30 Day Music Challenge, Day 9

The first song that plays on shuffle. How old is this challenge? How do other people consume music in 2021? I use Spotify and have an embarrassing amount of playlists, both created by me or saved from others. They vary from just one album, or maybe a discography from a specific band or artist, to endless compilations based on anything from genre, mood, day of the week, a fictional character or what a cemetery would sound like if it was an audible experience. The range is vast.

The problem is that we’re not living in 2007 when all my music lived on an mp3 player and shuffle EVERYTHING was The Thing. That player contained songs specifically chosen and replayed over and over. I knew just which one within seconds of the intro. Nowadays, I kinda have to choose a playlist first and then press shuffle. Anyway, I scrolled through the playlists and randomly clicked on one. I ended up on a list with 650+ songs from various artists. It’s one of the playlists I often listen to, made in 2017 but edited it from time to time. It has a wide variety of bands within alt/goth music so it’s probably a decent contender.

The Winner is…. Arrowhead by October Burns Black. What can I say? I like them but don’t have any special memories or feelings about the band. The members come from different bands across the world and the sound is very typical goth rock from the 2010’s, a bit more polished and clear compared to the 80’s sound it mimics. OBB has been around for some years now but as far as I know, only two EP’s have been released with a total of 8 songs. My favorite song is probably With you.

Leave a comment