Review: Jessie Handbag by Killstar

.:.DISCLAIMER.:. THIS IS NOT SPONSORED .:.DISCLAIMER.:.

Normally it says that I paid for the stuff in the disclaimer as well but that’s not the case here. My mom gave me this bag for Christmas. I’ve been using it every day since, no matter the occasion and I thought I’d review it before it’s unnecessary (because Killstar is fast fashion and it probably won’t hang around forever). But oh my, could this be the best bag I’ve ever had? Yes, I think so.

The purse I got is the Jessie Handbag by Killstar. Before I dive in to the review, the pictures suck. I’ve been waiting for some natural light to shoot the bag in and when it finally came I forgot how to camera. The lens hood was somewhere else and all of the images got bad back light and the PVC bounced the light in a weird way too so there will be new pictures soon. I’m bringing the purse with me to the woods to shoot there instead.

Design
The design is good and the size somewhere between a smaller purse and a large laptop bag, still sleek and not at all bulky. I like bags with a zipper and this one has that.

The cross-body strap is in a good width with a wider, studded part for your shoulder. Actually very comfy, even when just wearing something light. Non-adjustable length on the strap unless you’re crafty. There is a few D-rings on the sides but I haven’t figured out a good way to use them together with the shoulder strap. The purse has handles, they are obviously too small to stick your entire arm through but they work well to grip when I’m searching for my keys or whatever in the purse.

There is one zipped pocket on the outside of the bag, one on the inside and a few open side pocket inside of the bag. The purse came with the fluffy ball and a big pentagram in the same key chain. It made annoying sounds so I just removed it from the key chain.

All hardware, such as zippers, hooks and rivets feel solid and nothing is flimsy or have rusted. The seams look even and sturdy as well.

What about the PVC then?
Oh, so shiny. It’s thick, super thick actually and the best quality I’ve ever felt when it comes to vinyl. I expected so much less considering the price. In Sweden you get to pay the same amount for a cheap, ordinary new bag in this size.

The purse has been with me on trains, boats, buses, in cars, restaurants and clubs, on the floor everywhere and on the muddy ground once or twice. It’s on the floor at work every day, I’ve had my shoes, lunch and many books shoved in it. It’s been abused. It’s got stuck in stuff. It’s been out in pouring rain and snow. It’s still in excellent condition.

For the sake of the review I have not as much as cleaned it properly yet. You can tell it’s got some stains on it, which are super easy to wipe off with just some water. It seems impossible to scratch this fabric. The only downside, as with any PVC item, is that dust shows kind of fast, but it just takes a second to rub off. I’m so surprised by this I kind of want more PVC stuff from Killstar…

Cons?
One thing I’m not too fond is the metal plate Killstar logo but it’s not very big and I can live with it. Other than that? None.

Pricing
It’s cheap by Swedish standards and the quality is outstanding.

Verdict
I have found THE bag I’ve been looking for during the past two or three years. I will probably never have to get another one, unless some idiot tries to microwave it…Sure, PVC isn’t for everybody and yes the bag attracts attention but it’s so apparent that you wouldn’t get a purse this shiny if that bothered you anyway, right?

UPDATE 2019-05-15
This is still the best purse I’ve owned. It’s been used nearly every day since Christmas and still looks as good as new. I love love love it.

UPDATE 2019-08-14
It’s an amazing purse, still. I had to do an update in a post of its own.

ootd_38
OOTD

 

3 Replies to “Review: Jessie Handbag by Killstar”

  1. Yeah, I’d never get a purse that shiny. 😉 But I love everything else about it. It’s so hard to find a cross-body bag with a strap that feels long enough, and that strap seems nice and long.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment