The bookworm in me is getting fed.

I just hit the order button on Beyond the Dark Veil: Post Mortem & Mourning Photography from the Thanatos Archive. It’s been almost a year since I first noticed it online and since then it’s been among my “save for later” titles on Bokus (Swedish online book store) and I can’t wait to get my hands on it.

Death in pictures. It all started with the movie The Others and an obsession with the action of taking portraits of deceased arose and since then, I’ve actually studied the subject of post mortem photography from a cultural perspective. I still find it truly remarkable, beautiful and as something deeply connected to mourning and processing the loss of a loved one. What do you think?

BDV

4 Replies to “The bookworm in me is getting fed.”

  1. Oh, I would love to leaf through such a book and I was actually considering buying it since I have some bonus money earmarked for books, but after reading the reviews I’m not so sure any more (unreadable fonts and small pictures that can be found online in much better quality). Would you consider sharing your thoughts about this book when you receive it? I was looking for interesting stuff to read, so far I ordered “Rest in pieces” – which is in transit – and now I’m reading “In a glass darkly”, which I found for free on Project Gutenberg or something after searching in vain for an ebook or a version with normal print that would ship to my country 🙂 I think I saw the latter on your blog, did you finish it?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I promise to share my thoughts and some pictures on the book 🙂 I think it’s easy to find the information this book holds online, after all it’s for a big audience and I don’t believe it to be a lot of in-depth research but more of a nice display of post mortem portraiture.
      To me it’s mainly a beautiful piece to sift through for inspiration and discussion.

      I have In a glass darkly at home! Due to literary overload *book sales* I’ve only finished Carmilla but intend to read the rest since I enjoyed the language in it. What do you think so far?

      Like

      1. I’m reading it in the order it comes, it’s in 3 parts and I don’t want to get confused. So far I’ve read a little over half and I like it. It’s a little more… polished?… and pleasant to read than Poe, whom I was reading before this. I saw some reviews that mentioned a monkey, and while I can’t stand monkeys it didn’t bother me at all in that particular story. I think Carmilla is at the very end, perhaps it takes up the whole third part. I intend to read some other stories I found on Project Gutenberg, including a couple by the same author. I used to like reading books but it was too difficult and inconvenient before I got an e-reader a couple of years ago (I have REALLY bad eyes). Since then I’ve caught up on a lot of classics and books by authors I liked when I was a kid. Recently I started looking for darker things to read, I got some of the obvious choices but I’m sadly unfamiliar with the genre. If you know similar books, I’m open to recommendations 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I agree, Le Fanu has a language that is neater in a way, maybe easier on the eyes?

        I always get the feeling of the author being close to a breakdown while reading Poe, Like as if every word he writes down could be the last. Maybe I’m just reflecting his entire life story into his books but it doesn’t feel easy, more like something angst-ridden that he needed to do to stay sane.

        I’m happy you’ve found a reading medium that works for you. I’m very much a book-in-my-hand-kind-of-girl but would want an e-reader too!

        The Gutenberg project is awesome! One of my favorite classics is definitely Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë. Almost infamous by now but I still think it’s worth repeating =P I think you’d enjoy Madame Bovary by Flaubert and then of course The picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde.

        If you’re into horror fiction you have to check out H.P. Lovecraft, I think there’s a few of his books up on the Gutenberg project 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

