Reading Challenge Update

About a week back, I challenged myself into reading all my unfinished books and gave myself until Midsummer’s eve. The list looks like this:

  1. The tales of Beedle the Bard
  2. Stjärnfall (Shooting Star)
  3. Rörelsen (The Movement)
  4. Trigger Warning
  5. End of Mr. Y
  6. Rant
  7. Hollow City
  8. Harbour
  9. Night Circus
  10. How to be a woman

Here’s a few thoughts on the titles I’ve finished so far. Now it’s time for the books where I’ve barely started reading (except for Harbour by John Ajvide Lindqvist). I’m not sure I will finish them all in time, but I will try.

bookchallenge

Tales of Beetle the Bard by J.K. Rowling
I’m obviously a big fan of Harry Potter and this book represent some of children’s tale told in the wizard families in the Harry Potter universe with the same sort of morale we can find in ordinary fables. The fifth and last one is the story about the three brothers as it was told in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. The book is short, written for an audience between 12-15 years old and is beautifully ornate with illustrations throughout the book. My favorite parts are Dumbledore’s notes, which you get to read after every tale, they really give me a throwback to Hogwarts and the magic of the book series.

Stjärnfall (Shooting Star) by Lars Wilderäng
This is the second novel in a trilogy about a post-apocalyptic world and I was excited to start with. And then it all went to a weird, weird place.

The first book Stjärnklart (Starry skies) starts with an international power outage, and the power never returns. A virus of some sort has destroyed all modern technology and people need to learn to live without electricity. It’s situated in Sweden and I found it fast-paced and fascinating, the book feels a bit die hard-prepper but entertaining enough and a good read on the beach. The second book, Stjärnfall (Shooting Star), takes place 10 years after the power outage and you get to follow the characters from the first book but also find out what actually caused the blackout…and here’s where the book takes a special little sci-fi u-turn.

I wouldn’t say I disliked it but it wasn’t what I hoped for. I’m not a big fan of sci-fi but I still feel like I need to read the last part just to know how it all pans out.

Rörelsen (The Movement) by John Ajvide Lindqvist

This is a horror novel about Stockholm in 80’s. The main character is the author himself and the book is tripping on the line between reality and fantasy.

I love how twisted it gets and the language is terrifyingly beautiful. I’m having a little trouble describing it in words because all I can do is feel the story, not quite knowing what just happened. But it’s about a young man, his first year away from home and the people he meet in his building. It’s about loneliness, standing on the outside looking in and a desperate desire to connect, to anything.

John’s the author behind Let the right one in, by the way. The book is amazing, even though I love the Swedish film adaption too.

Trigger Warning: Short fictions and disturbances by Neil Gaiman

I’ve been in love with Neil Gaiman’s works for ages and enjoyed the short stories in this book a lot, especially the really short ones. He creates entire universes by very little text and still make them feel complete and tangible.

But somehow the stories felt a bit scattered in Trigger Warning. I know a lot of them have been printed before and I think I like them better when I don’t read them all cover to cover.

My favorite part was probably Feminine Endings because it is a tornado of mixed emotions on very human and scary level.

Leave a Reply

