DIY Neo-Victorian sleeves – ruffles and frills

Okay, so this has been a big experimental mystery to me and I feel like I would’ve needed to take more pictures than I did but hopefully it will still make sense when I write it down.

I’m still working on my Velvet Blazer as seen in previous posts and it has gotten a corset lacing in the back and I’ve removed the shoulder pads from it. But I want it to be even more dramatic and decided to add lace at the end of the sleeves, an idea I got from jackets like this Punk Rave Vampire Knight, not to mention the ruffles seen on Lestat’s shirt peeking out from his coat.

Images borrowed from Fantasmagoria and Cinemablend.

How I dit it (sorry for the lack of pictures)

Lace is cheap, if anyone wants to try something like this, but I found an old skirt at home with a lace/mesh layer and decided to work with it in the spirit of repurposing my clothes. The entire length of the fabric was used, double layered and leaving the cut off edge raw.

I wasn’t sure of how much fabric I wanted so I decided to divide the lace in two (two sleeves, you know) and just sew it on, leaving the excess fabric hanging from the sleeve. At first, I folded the mesh over the lace so that the fabric got two layers. Then I pinned it to the jacket with a few folds to get some frills and a less transparent look.

I turned the garment inside out and pinned the lace in the opposite direction to how I want it to fall. In that way it hides the stitching when the jacket is on but this can be done in any way you like it. I hand sew it to not get any stitching on the outside of the jacket but you could use a machine if that’s not an issue.

diy_frills

Like I wrote before, I sew on the entire half of the fabric with a lot of excess lace, not deciding how to continue from there and I actually forgot to take pictures of my next whim.

At first, I started to stitch the lace together, just the lace part and not  the mesh, in a way that created a closed sleeve instead of an open one as the picture below suggests. It left the sleeve with a tail of lace and mesh.

diy_explain
Forgot the pic, sorry!

Anyway, when the lace on the sleeve was stitched up, I took the tail and folded it backwards as seen on the picture above to get yet another layer of lace and making it even more opaque and dramatic. I pulled it back enough to get it more diagonal an create some wrinkles, then I pinned it down and stitched it the lace to the inside of the sleeve, I left the mesh part untouched.

cof

Why did I leave openings in the mesh? Because of how much fabric I got left (my skirt wasn’t as short as these sleeves will be, thankfully), I wanted to play a bit with it and leaving a few invisible holes allow me to pull the mesh parts around a bit, creating different effects.

This is the end result, at least for now.
sdr

Taking pictures of your own arms and hands turns out to be a challenge, but I managed to get a few shots of at least the sleeves. Will get better shots when I’ve got some help with the camera.

themsleeves

3 Replies to “DIY Neo-Victorian sleeves – ruffles and frills”

  1. How do you wash your lace clothes? Mine looks so worn after a couple of washes, I donțt think I’d be able to reuse it. The elastic fibres pull out too and look like brown hair hanging out of the lace.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I mainly use lace with no elasticity if I can, the lace I’ve used for the sleeves on this jacket is at least 15 years old and well-worn 😛 I wash them with all my other clothes on normal programs (40 or 60°C)

      But when it comes to stretchy lace, it holds up really well if you don’t throw it in the dryer . It’s the dryer that destroy the elastic threads in the lace. If it’s entire lace tops/shirts with long sleeves etc I usually put them in a mesh laundry bag and wash them as normal, no dryer.

      Like

Leave a Reply

