Day 3 A piece of clothing or jewellery that was a gift

At first, I was a bit unsure if I should tell the story behind this necklace or maybe choose something else entirely for this post. But this was the first item that popped into my head when I read today’s challenge and I’m sticking to it.

As you can see, it’s a pendant in the shape of two wings. I got it in the mail on my 18th birthday and the sender was my old boyfriend. We met the year I was turning 17 and in many ways, it felt like he rescued me. To make the love story even grander, my parents didn’t want me to see this guy . They thought he was a satanist, that he changed me into something I wasn’t, none of which was true. I often talked to him about how trapped I felt. Anyway, we often flipped through magazines together, the kind with clothes, cd’s and stuff we’d wish we someday could afford and I loved everything with wings on it and doodled around the images I liked, this necklace was in one of those magazines.

After half a year or so into the relationship, I broke it off. We lived far from each other and had no money for traveling back and forth at the time, it was intense when we met but at best we only saw each other every other weekend. It was stressful and I was in a really bad place, it made no sense to teenage-me after a while.

We lost contact completely but 8 months later, on my birthday, I got a yellow envelope and it was from him. The envelope contained a letter and a silver pendant. He had written something about wanting to give the wings to me way back when we were together but I had broken up with him before he got the chance so instead, he waited until my birthday. The letter ended with him wanting me to know that I was free. Ironically, this was just the beginning of a 10 year long back and forth relationship that sounds more and more like a fairy tale for each passing year. But I still have that necklace and I still wear it from time to time, thinking about how supremely weird life can be.

Stay Curious
Septicemia

Leave a Reply

